Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option



Our mission is to understand and balance our citizens' needs, desires, and resources to achieve the highest possible quality of life for the overall community through the services we provide.


As members of the City of Vacaville organization, we pride ourselves on providing EXCELLENCE IN CUSTOMER SERVICE and a "hometown" SENSE OF COMMUNITY through our commitment to our core values of:



Vacaville was incorporated in 1892 as a general law city, governed by a five- member Council, with the Mayor serving as presiding officer. The Mayor and four Council members are elected at-large by the people to serve four-year terms. The Vice Mayor is selected by the Council from among its members. The City Council is also the governing body of the Redevelopment Agency and the Housing Authority.

The City Council meets on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the City Council Chambers at 650 Merchant Street. Meetings are televised live on Cable TV Channel 26 (Comcast) and Channel 99 (AT&T U-Verse), and are available online.

Copies of agendas, minutes, resolutions, staff reports and ordinances are available for review in the City Clerk's office. You can view a copy of the upcoming City Council Agenda on the Agenda Page. A guide to City Council meetings can be viewed at council meetings.


The City Council is served by several commissions. These advisory groups are composed of residents appointed by the Council. Many actions taken by a commission are then heard and acted upon by the City Council.

City Manager

The City Manager is appointed by the Council to interpret and carry out Council policy. The City Council also appoints the City Attorney, who serves as the legal advisor for the City Council and staff.

City Clerk and City Treasurer

Both the City Clerk and City Treasurer are elected to four-year terms. You can reach the current City Clerk, Michelle Thornbrugh, at (707) 449-5110.